Summer Reads

T5W

Hey guys!

Today I’m superย excited to be sharing my first ever T5W post with you all and even though it’s actually Autumn going on Winter here in Australia, I like to think that living in the land Down Under gives me an all-access pass to anything Summer related ๐Ÿ˜‰

5. To All the Boys I’ve Loved Beforeย by Jenny Han

Pretty sure this will be on a lot of people’s T5W this week! TATBILB was a bit over-hyped for me – I wasn’t mad aboutย any of the characters aside from Kitty & Peter, and the juvenile language put me off a bit, considering I’m used to being wooed by authors like Cassandra Clare & Sarah J. Maas. But nothing screams SUMMER like super cute contemporaries, and I can’t deny that TATBILB rates pretty high on the cute radar ย โค

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset

4. Amy & Roger’s Epic Detourย by Morgan Matson andย 3. Let’s Get Lostย by Adi Alsaid

Another thing that screams Summer? Road trips! I’ve never actually been on a road trip with my friends (unless you count our day-long food adventures,) but I like to live vicariously through the lives of fictional characters.ย I guarantee that after reading these two, you’ll want to grab your nearest friend andย jump in a car yourself!

2. Lola and the Boy Next Doorย by Stephanie Perkins

I know what you’re thinking. WHY NOT ANNA? Althoughย Anna & the French Kissย was infinitely cuter, I’m not a fan of ‘cute cheating’ in books, and I’m going to leave it at that. Lola was a story with real heart, and I loved the message thatย you should never feel entitled to someone’s love – ย you shouldย earn it. And c’mon guys, CRICKET BELL โค

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset

Processed with VSCO with c2 preset

1. Fruits Basketย by Natsuki Takaya

It took me 3 years to finish this manga series. THREE. YEARS. Why? Because I refused to read it illegally online, and I’d have to starve for a year AND sell library books on the black market to afford them all at once, so I spread out my purchases (I was a poor Uni student, ok? Don’t judge me!) I honestly just adore Fruits Basket – I cried and laughed and fell in love with all the characters. And just look at how short each volume is! You could marathon the whole series in less than a week ๐Ÿ˜€

Hope you enjoyed my first T5W – if you participated, leave a link below so I can check out your recommendations!

Much Love,

sig

T5Wย is a Goodreads group created byย Laineyย and co-hosted byย Samantha

13 thoughts on “Summer Reads

    • happycomesfirst says:

      Hey there!!!! I just checked out your post – your reading list looks great! ๐Ÿ˜ I’m actually reading A Court of Mist & Fury atm but once I finish I’ll be reading Death Note (which is a manga) for my friend’s readalong ๐Ÿ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

