Book Theme Songs

banner0106

There are some amazing people out there who are so adept at multi tasking that they can read and  listen to music at the same time (looking at you, little sis 😏) Unfortunately, whilst I can simultaneously juggle a bowl of rice, Instagram, catch up on booktube videos and pen a letter to the Australian prime minister with my left foot, when I’m reading I absolutely cannot focus on anything else. 

However, there are certain songs that instantly made me think of a particular book, and now they are forever engraved in my mind as an inseparable entity. They just go together like peanut butter and jelly.

themesong1.jpg

5. Wings (Birdy) & Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

“Oh damn these walls

In the moment we’re ten feet tall

And how you told me after it all

We’d remember tonight

For the rest of our lives”

4. Try (specifically the Max Schneider cover) & Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Seriously though, listen to this song and then tell me you don’t immediately picture Warner whispering the words to Juliette.

“Wait a second

Why should you care what they think of you

When you’re all alone, by yourself

Do you like you? Do you like you?

You don’t have to try so hard

You don’t have to give it all away

You just have to get up, get up, get up, get up

You don’t have to change a single thing.”

3. Strong (One Direction) & Allegiant by Veronica Roth

“I’m sorry if I say I need you

But I don’t care, I’m not scared of love.

Cos when I’m not with you I’m weaker.

Is that so wrong?

Is it so wrong?

That you make me strong?”

2. Fight Song (Rachel Platten) & Disruption by Jessica Shirvington

Because aside from being one of the most intelligent, ruthless female leads I’ve ever read about, Maggie literally kicks ass. As in, she can muay thai you into the next century.

“This is my fight song

Take back my life song

Prove I’m alright song

My power’s turned on

Starting right now I’ll be strong

I’ll play my fight song

And I don’t really care if nobody else believes

Cos I’ve still got a lot of fight left in me.” 

themesong2.jpg

1. Style basically the whole 1989 album (TSwizzle, who else?!) & the Mara Dyer trilogy by Michelle Hodkin

“I should just tell you to leave cos I 

Know exactly where it leads but I

Watch us go round and round each time.”

I actually made a book playlist for the Mara Dyer trilogy on my Youtube channel, so if you want to check it out, I’ll embed it below 😀

Let me know – do you guys have book playlists? Can you listen while you’re reading, or can you only concentrate on reading when it’s dead silent?

Much Love,

sig

T5W is a Goodreads group created by Lainey and co-hosted by Samantha

5 thoughts on “Book Theme Songs

Leave a Reply

