Father Figures

1506copy

I’m always drawn to books with good family dynamics in it and although YA is filled with lovely maternal figures, good father figures are harder to come by – in fact, I’d go as far as saying that the absentee/abusive dad is becoming as much of a trope as the mysterious bad boy.

Despite that, I have a few exemplary fictional fathers that I adore, and today I want to celebrate my top 5!

5. Mr. Bennet (Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen)

I LOVE Mr. Bennett – his witty remarks and good natured jabs at his wife are one of my favourite things about the book. Although he makes fun of his girls endlessly, you can tell there isn’t anything in the world he wouldn’t do for them.

DSC_3998-3.jpg

4. Luke Garroway (The Mortal Instruments series by Cassandra Clare)

Oh would you look at that – Cassandra Clare made it into another one of my blog posts xD Luke isn’t actually related to Clary or Simon, but he protects them fiercely and his relationship with them proves that family isn’t necessarily blood – it’s the people who will love and stand by you when you have nothing left.

3. Arthur Weasley (I don’t even think this needs a reference)

The HP series is FULL of wonderful father figures – Sirius, Professor Lupin, even Dumbledore (although that becomes a bit of a contentious issue once you get to Deathly Hallows.) If you asked me to explain why Arthur is my favourite, I honestly couldn’t tell you. Maybe it’s because re-reading the series last year made me want to be adopted by the Weasleys. Or because Arthur and Molly welcomed Harry into their family as if it was the most natural thing in the world. It could also be the fact that Arthur survives a few near death experiences, unlike many of Harry’s other father figures. 😱

2. Coach Wymack (All For The Game series by Nora Sakavic)

One of the things I really loved about this series was that Coach Wymack didn’t fit the ‘father figure for the misfits’ stereotype – he didn’t just round up a bunch of troubled teens in the hopes that he could fill some gaping hole for them. I think they looked up to him without ever really meaning to. He actually reminds me a little of Coach in Teen Wolf – Wymack’s non-pep-talk-pep-talks are THE BEST!

wymackquote.jpg

1. Julian Blackthorn (Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare)

Let’s face it, Julian single handedly raised 4 kids from the age of 12. Sure, he had help from Emma and Diana – but anyone who’s read the book will agree that Jules’ siblings see him as more of a father than an older brother. He shoulders this burden without complaint or even a hint of bitterness, and he always puts everyone’s needs before his own. Throughout the entire book, all I wanted to do was wrap my arms around him and shelter him from the world. ❤

DSC_3979.jpg

 

Thanks again for reading and don’t forget to leave a link in the comments if you participate in T5W so I can check out your posts, too! 😀

Much Love,

sig

T5W is a Goodreads group created by Lainey and co-hosted by Samantha

9 thoughts on “Father Figures

  1. Emily says:

    You are so right about the lacking (reliable) fathers in YA. YES Arthur and Molly, love them! Great list, I agree with all the characters you’ve list that I have read about 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

