Life Update

lifeupdate

This post was actually supposed to be my HP & The Cursed Child Discussion but…I felt kind of weird just jumping right back into a regular post after a 3 month hiatus with no real explanation of where I’ve been or what’s happened – not like you guys would have minded, I’m sure! The book community is seriously one of the most wonderful things to have ever happened to me and you guys have always been so supportive 🙂

The truth is, I’ve been reading less and generally not been as present on Bookternet as I was last year. When I first started my YouTube channel, I really thought it was just going to be my sister watching my videos and I couldn’t believe it when other people started commenting on my videos and suddenly I found myself surrounded by like-minded people discussing our mutual love for books and fictional characters. This year, a similar sort of thing happened on Bookstagram, which is basically a whole community of people combining 2 of my great loves – books and photography – how could I not get hooked?

IMG_1147.JPG

So between daily photo challenges on Bookstagram, trying to get my blog up and running, uploading videos so people wouldn’t think I was neglecting my channel and trying to keep up with my reading pace from the previous year (around 5 books a month) – it didn’t really leave room for much else.

Well, these past few months that I’ve seemingly disappeared into a Bookternet-less void? I’ve just been concentrating on the ‘much else’ – namely, spending time with friends and colleagues, concentrating on my fitness goals and taking time to savour books at my own pace (and this is something that took awhile for me to make peace with, that I don’t have to race myself. It doesn’t matter if I read less than I did last year.) I also started a full time job at one of the pharmacies I’d been working part time in, and although there are long hours and lots of responsibilities, working with people who are passionate in their roles has really energised me, and these days I can’t remember a time when I was happier than I am now.

I do have some blog posts planned and I’m going to try really hard not to disappear again. Thank you to everyone for sticking around and to all my new followers (I somehow reached 100 during my absence?! YOU GUYS ARE INCREDIBLE) – VIRTUAL WARM FUZZY NGOC HUGS TO YOU!!!

Speak to you all soon!

Much Love,

sig

8 thoughts on “Life Update

  1. Lauren @ Wonderless Reviews says:

    Ahh, it’s so great to see a post from you Ngoc ♥ It’s definitely understandable that you’ve been away. I so know what you mean about reading books at your own pace. There’s definitely a subtle pressure in the community where you feel like you have to read ALL THE BOOKS super quickly. Good luck with the full time job and can’t wait to see what you have in store for the blog!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • happycomesfirst says:

      Awww thank you so much for still sticking around! 🙈 Every time I watch my friends’ wrap ups I get nervous that I’m not reading as much but honestly, I read for enjoyment – it’s not like I’m a professional reviewer! 😅 BIG HUGS TO YOU, LAUREN! Your beautiful blog constantly inspires me ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

